Judges reveal shortlist for the 2018 Brick Awards

The 2018 Brick Awards beat its record number of entries this year with 332 projects entering the prestigious competition, across 15 categories.


The Brick Awards showcases the very best examples of clay brick in the UK’s built environment. A 42-year legacy has celebrated myriad bold and interesting architecture, demonstrating again this year an extraordinary caliber of projects.


The task of shortlisting fell to a panel of experienced architects, planners, specilaist brickwork contractors, developers and other design and brick experts, who produced a final shortlist of 110 projects. 

Selected across three categories is the regeneration of the former BBC Television Centre (pictured above). Picking up nominations in the Large Housing Development, Innovation and Commercial categories the project uses brick to meet both the aesthetic requirements of such a prestigious project and seamlessly link all elements of the project’s construction.


Judges agreed that the final outcome of the project was a stunning display of traditionally laid brickwork being used alongside modern methods of construction encompassing large format precast panels and lightweight brick slip cladding.


Refurbishment, a category which always sees a high number of entrants thanks to brick’s sustainable quality saw an artistic entry this year with Turner’s House (pictured below) making it through to the inspection stage of the judging process. 

Turner’s House is a small, grade II listed, early C19th villa, designed by the eminent painter, J.M.W.Turner. The building deteriorated over the years but now thanks to a clever use of original and new brick the building has been restored to its former glory.


Judges were also impressed with Ouseburn Road in Newcastle (pictured below), nominated in the Small Housing Development category.  The project’s brief called for two houses for a pair of neighbours looking to downsize.


Both homes provide modest accommodation on a restricted budget in the back gardens of standard terrace houses. Construction is fairly traditional. Innovation comes from turning this ordinary scenario into architecture which enhances the user experience and contributes positively to the urban environment. 


The judging panel this year consists of:

  • Hilary Satchwell (Head Judge) – Director, Tibbalds
  • Nicola Kelly – Commercial Director, Skanska
  • Fiona Scott – Director, Gort Scott Architects
  • Tatiana von Preussen – Co Founder and Director, vPPR architects
  • Jelena Cousins – Owner of Cousins & Cousins
  • Miranda Maclaren – Associate Director, Duggan Morris Architects
  • Pat Furr (Former MD of Carlton)
  • Andrew Taylor – Director and Head of Planning, Countryside Properties
  • Lee Marley – MD, Lee Marley Brickwork (specialist brickwork contractor)
  • Tom McGuire – MD, Grangewood Brickwork (specialist brickwork contractor)
  • Michael Driver – Brick expert and Affiliate Lecturer, Christ's College, University of Cambridge
  • David Cole Adams (Brick expert).

“You will notice that the judging panel has a different make-up this year with a majority of women judges and includes a breadth of experience in design with, and the use of brick explained Hilary Satchwell.

“I hope that this move towards increasing diversity will be a positive indicator to the wider construction industry, which still has some way to go. It is very exciting that the Brick Development Association are able to make such a positive first step and I hope to see this approach evolving further in future years.”

Last year the title of Supreme Winner was awarded to Maccreanor Lavington’s South Gardens, a Lendlease development, which also picked up the title of best Large Housing Development. The first phase of Elephant Park, a major regeneration project in Elephant and Castle that sees the demolition of the former Heygate Estate, the project has been praised for its wide range of expressive detailing, contextual sympathy and exceptional brickwork, all of which reinforces the sense of certainty and comfort synonymous with brick-built homes.

What really sets the Brick Awards apart from any other industry awards is the process to find the overall winners. After the rigorous shortlisting, the judges now go into exceptional depth, including visits to every shortlisted site in the UK, to consider the induvial merits of each project.

The awards criteria span: planning; design and quality of construction including of course, the substantial and skilful use of clay brick. Applications range from classic clay building blocks and facing bricks to the creative use of ceramic façade panels, roof tiles and clay pavers. Special attention is directed to the general quality of the architecture and how the building shows sensitivity to its surroundings and purpose.

The winners will be announced at the Brick Awards ceremony on the 8th November at London’s Park Lane Hilton Hotel.